
CHARGE ACCOUNT ... By David Weiss 
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0-86 
C-08754 

N-S vulnerable, IMP scoring 

South 
Pass · 
1S 
Pass 

West 
1H 
Pass 
Pass 

North East 
Pass Pass 
25(?) Pass 

Trick 1: HK, A, 8, 7. -
Trick 2: DA, 8; 2, 4. 
Trick 3: 03, 6, 7, 10. 
Trick 4: CA, 6, 4, 2. 
Trick 5: HQ, 4, C5, H4. 
Trick 6: -H2, 5, 52, J. 
Trick 7: 53, A, 6, 5. 

Declarer now played trumps from the top, then led a club to the king. An­
other round of clubs from the dummy produced an eighth trick. Who gets 
the charge for allowing this silly contract to come home? 
Steve Evans: "East clearly didn't understand how to defend on this hand. 
With 5 trumps, he should encourage his partner with the club 8 at trick 4. · 
When his partner switches back to hearts at trick 5, he must have no more 
clubs. Therefore, he must be 2-6-4-1; because if he were 1-7-4-1, he would 
still be bidding (why he wasn't on this hand is beyond me anyway). If part­
ner is 2-6-4-1, the defense is obvious; ruff partner's heart, give him a club 
ruff; ruff the next heart and give partner another club ruff. This beats the 
hand with no problem and declarer can do nothing about it." . 
Marshall Miles: "I don't think that either East or West did anything bad on 
defense. Part of the problem was caused by West's cowardly bidding~ All he 
needs to find his partner with is two red jacks to make three hearts, and he 
couldn't even risk a two-heart bid. That made it hard for East to visualize 
West's distribution. Incidentally, at trick seven it was too late for West to set 
the hand. If he had given his partner a club ruff, declarer would play one. 
high frump, picking up the jack, and could not be prevented from ruffing a 
club in the dummy. So if the hand were to be set, East had to trump tl:le -' 
queen of hearts at trick five (or West had to lead a low. heart, asking East to 
ruff). 

"It is unreasonable to expect West to lead a low heart, playing his partner 
for the singleton eight. Should East know that West had the singleton ace of· 
clubs as a result of its being played at trick 4? I don't think so. For one thing, · 
with ten red cards, West would probably bid over one spade. So I don't 
blame either prtner for the defense, even though it wasn't double dummy." 

Experts certainly are a prejudiced lot. Our panelists castigate .West for 
failing to bid over one spade and, I admit, I agree with them. Yet East"West 
cannot make eight tricks and they were in a position to optain a plus score 
against two spades. I don't know if North would have bid over West's action, . 
so why don't we simply admit that West made a "well-judged" pass? The 
auction should not have affected the defense. 

The defense failed because East was napping. When declarer played ace 
'and a diamond at tricks two and· three, East-shou~d have been perplexed ... 
Why were trumps not being drawn? Why didn't declarer try to score five. 
spades (spurning a possible finesse in trumps because of the bidding), two 
red aces, and the club king? Even if declarer was fishing around for over­
tricks, it would seem natural to start the trumps. The only logical alternative · 
is that he cannot afford to play trumps because he has balanced on a four­
card suit. That is scarcely bizarre. 

Next East should have thought about the diamond plays. It was clear that 
West had king-queen-ten-x. With the expected 2-5-4-2 pattern, why would 
West cash the club ace? True, the actual pattern is not consistent with most 
people's idea of sensible bidding; but here West, looking at the dummy, 

· cashed the club ace. Bidding is personal, strongly subjective, but defense is 
subject to-rational analysis. East should have ruffed the heart queen. 

West also could have beaten the hand, and the heroic (and very risky) play 
of leading a low heart after cashing the club ace was not needed. The 
defense could have prevailed ifthey had simply cashed the diamond queen 
at trick 4. The difficulty in finding this winning path is that it is seldom right 
to do what declarer seems to be doing. West's fear is that declarer, with a 
trump holding such as AK (0?) xx, is trying to single home his low trumps in 
case spades split badly. West could not know that declarer was simply punt­
• . • L __ , __ '~~ ~~~athinn nnnrl to hanoen. Cashinq the club ace 



teve vans: "East clearly didn't understand how to defend on this hand. 
With 5 trumps, he should encourage his partner with the club 8 at trick 4. 
When his partner switches back to hearts at trick 5, he must have no more 
clubs. Therefore, he must be 2-6-4-1; because if he were 1-7-4-1, he would 
still be bidding (why he wasn't on this hand is beyond me anyway). If part­
ner ·is 2-6-4-1, the defense is obvious; ruff partner's heart, give him a club 
ruff; ruff the next heart and give partner another club ruff. This beats the 
hand with no problem and declarer can do nothing about it." . 
Marshall Miles: "I don't think that either East or West did anything bad on 
defense. Part of the problem was caused by West's cowardly bidding. All he 
needs to find his partner with is two red jacks to make three heart.s, and he 
couldn't even risk a two-heart bid. That made it hard for East to visualize 
West's distribution. Incidentally, at trick seven it was too late for West to set 
the hand. If he had given his partner a club ruff, declarer would play one 
high frump, picking up the jack, and could not be prevented from rutting a 
club in the dummy. So if the hand were to be set, East had to trump the 
queen of hearts at trick five (or West had to lead a low heart, asking East to 
ruff). 

"It is unreasonable to expect West to lead a low heart, playing his partner 
for the singleton eight. Should East know that West had the singleton ace of 
clubs as a result of its being played at trick 4? I don't think so. For one thing, 
with ten red cards, West would probably bid over one spade. So I don't 
blame either prtner for the defense, even though it wasn't double dummy." 

Experts certainly are a prejudiced lot. Our panelists castigate West for 
failing to bid over one spade and, I admit, I agree with them. Yet East-West 
cannot make eight tricks and they-were in a position to obtain a plus score 
against two spades. I don't know if North would have bid over West's action, 
so why don't we simply admit that West made a "well -judged" pass? The 
auction should not have affected the defense. 

The defense failed because East was napping. When declarer played ace 
• and a diamond at tricks two and three, East -should have been perple.Med. 
Why were trumps not being drawn? Why didn't declarer try to score five 
spades (spurning a possible finesse in trumps because of the bidding), two 
red aces, and the club king? Even if declarer was fishing around for over­
tricks, it would seem natural to start the trumps. The only logical alternative 
is that he cannot afford to play trumps because he has balanced on a four­
card suit. That is scarcely bizarre. 

Next East should have thought about the diamond plays. It was clear that 
West had king-queen-ten-x. With the expected 2-5-4-2 pattern, why would 
West cash the club ace? True, the actual pattern is not consistent with most 
people's idea of sensible bidding; but here West, looking at the dummy, 

· cashed the club ace. Bid(:ling is personal, strongly subjective, but defense is 
subject to -rational analysis. East should have ruffed the heart queen. 

West also could have beaten the hand, and the heroic (and very risky) play 
of leading a low heart after cashing the club ace was not needed. The 
defense could have prevailed ifthey had simply cashed the diamond queen 
at trick 4. The difficulty in finding this winning path is that it is seldom right 
to do what declarer seems to be doing. West's fear is that declarer, with a 
trump holding such as AK (0?) xx, is trying to single home his low trumps in 
case spades split badly. West could not know that declarer was s1mply punt­
ing, just hoping for something good to happen. Cashmg. the club ace 
obtains a set on most hands where a set IS available, and 1t should have 
sufficed here. East gets the charge because East was in a position to know 
what was going on. 
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